A 74-track collection of music from John Hughes films is arriving in November – with the support of the Hughes family too.

There’s never been, apparently, an official compilation album release of music from the films of the late, great John Hughes. For a filmmaker to whom music was so important, that’s something of a surprise. It’s also something that’s being rectified later this year.

A new 74 track release – arriving on CD and vinyl – is heading to stores this November, and it’ll bring together tunes from Hughes films spanning 1983 to 1989. That includes music from Pretty in PinkFerris Bueller’s Day OffThe Breakfast ClubSixteen CandlesWeird ScienceNational Lampoon’s VacationSome Kind Of WonderfulShe’s Having A BabyThe Great Outdoors and Uncle Buck, and Planes, Trains & Automobiles.

Demon/Edsel is releasing the set, and here in the UK it has a release date of Friday 11th November. The company has worked with the Hughes family on the release, as well as Tarquin Gotch, his music supervisor.

You can find out more about the release – and order a copy – here.

We’ll leave you with the full boxart…

The John Hughes Mixtapes

Thank you for visiting! If you’d like to support our attempts to make a non-clickbaity movie website:

Follow Film Stories on Twitter here, and on Facebook here.

Buy our Film Stories and Film Stories Junior print magazines here.

Become a Patron here.

Related Posts