Coda takes home the Best Picture Oscar, but it feels after this year’s Academy Awards, that ain’t the headline: here’s the full list of winners anyway.

The underdog of movie awards season pulled off quite the result, as Coda took the Best Picture Oscar at the end of an evening where, well, you know. It ended with the Academy issuing the following statement on its Twitter feed…

Let’s do the films. Aside from Coda, which also won gold for best supporting actor Troy Kotsur and for Sian Heder’s screenplay, Sir Kenneth Branagh finally won an Academy Award after many, many nominations, his screenplay for Belfast landing him the prize. The best actress gong went to Jessica Chastain, Will Smith won best actor (coming back to him), whilst the mighty Jane Campion took home the only prize of the night for hot favourite The Power Of The Dog. She won for best director, the third woman to ever win that award, and the second on the trot after Chloe Zhao last year.

But the talking point wasn’t the list of winners – which you can find at the bottom – it was the moment when Will Smith strode onto the stage, punched Chris Rock, and then picked up an Oscar 20 minutes later to warm applause. I’m writing this as coldly as I can, as I’ve only had one cup of coffee and still trying to work out just what happened. The first thing I saw when I woke up to write all this up was a report saying the Los Angeles police wasn’t pressing charges, a bit of a WTF moment.

With fruity language, this is what happened, a moment that was censored on American television (which also didn’t show all of the awards being given out over the weekend as they happened either, but y’know)…

And that’s going to be what this year’s Oscars are remembered for. Dune, in the midst of all of this, was the biggest winner of the night, with six gongs to its name. And here’s the full list of winners…

Best picture


Best actress

Jessica Chastain – The Eyes of Tammy Faye

Best actor

Will Smith – King Richard

Best supporting actress

Ariana DeBose – West Side Story

Best supporting actor

Troy Kotsur – Coda

Best director

Jane Campion – The Power of the Dog

Best original screenplay

Belfast – Kenneth Branagh

Best adapted screenplay

Coda – Sian Heder

Best animated feature


Best documentary feature

Summer of Soul

Best international feature

Drive My Car (Japan)

Best original song

No Time to Die – No Time to Die (Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell)

Best original score

Dune – Hans Zimmer

Best cinematography

Dune – Greig Fraser

Best visual effects

Dune – Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Brian Connor, Gerd Nefzer

Best film editing

Dune – Joe Walker

Best costume design

Cruella – Jenny Beavan

Best sound

Dune – Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Theo Green, Doug Hemphill and Ron Bartlett

Best production design

Dune – Patrice Vermette and Zsuzsanna Sipos

Best make-up and hairstyling

The Eyes of Tammy Faye – Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram and Justin Raleigh

Best live action short

The Long Goodbye

Best animated short

The Windshield Wiper

Best documentary short

The Queen of Basketball

Thank you for visiting! If you’d like to support our attempts to make a non-clickbaity movie website:

Follow Film Stories on Twitter here, and on Facebook here.

Buy our Film Stories and Film Stories Junior print magazines here.

Become a Patron here.

Related Posts